Week 2

Week 2  Total mileage 370 km Week 1-  160km week 2- 210km         averageper day  week 1- 22.2 km  Average per day week 2 -30 km
Day 1 Beaufort to Ararat  36 km 8/3


Showing some improvement; however, I want to describe what it is really like. Walking is painful.  I try many things to try to lessen the pain: like switching from orthotics to no orthotics, sandals with and without, shoes with and without, wearing supports on the knees and trying it without support, hoping this will strengthen the knees. I decide in the end to just put up with it.

Mary Ellen prepared cards for me with addresses. I either left them at home or lost them.  They were my christmas present. Is it possible to get another set or send me addresses?

This week started with grief  over my lost solar charger, then more grief as I lost both chargers for my two telephones. Then I lost my Ipood (device for digging little holes in the ground).

Most nights the traffic wakes me up because I do not camp far from the road. The rain is also keeping me awake but it is a nice feeling to be all warm and dry.

 
Day 2 9/3  Ararat to Stawell 27km
Met up with Ian and Ruth, good friends from my working days. Ian also is known as my Norwegian dresser. We shared a chalet in Lillehammer in Norway, I had a nasty accident on a motorbike during Jotun Olympics and I couldn’t dress myself. Ian was very attentative.  When they came along I was sitting in a winery having a glass of their best red. It will be hard to convince anyone this is a hard gig after that. 

Day 3  Slept at Green Hill Lake Stopped at Ararat
I did washing and bought my third hat for $2.38; at that price I’ll probably keep this one. I listened to ABC classic fm all day.
Day 4  10/3Camped out at Old Dadswell, a themed accomodation. Max and Jenn drove up in a A model Ford wedding car with tea and biscuits – what luxury!  Lovely people make this walk worth while.  Big Koala at Dadswell is being repaired by insurance after the floods but they are not paying up for the rest of the business. (Fine print strikes again)

Day 6 Dimboola

I met Wayne & Kerry  at the Desert Edge Cafe – just what Dimboola needs, by the look of the rest of the town. I was most impressed by the careful research of how to make a vegetarian burger – delicious – but  if I may be so bold, it could do with a chutney or sauce to make it perfect.
Larinda and David walked me out of the town – very nice young people.
Walked into Nhill Tuesday afternoon and went straight to the Tourist information centre to write this blog and charge the phone.  It is a public holiday today, Labour day.  Pat at the tourist information center made me most welcome.

Cr Wayne Lovett also took some pictures and story for the Dimboola Courier; available on line www.dimboolacourier.com.au

Weather fine and mild 30 deg 3 days rain.

About afwa0987

On the 16th May 2009 sixty-nine year old osteoarthritis sufferer, Mike Pauly, set off from his home in East Fremantle on a lone journey walking across the Nullarbor in a bid to raise funds and awareness for Arthritis. He completed the epic 3617km walk unaided. In 2011 he will walk again – this time from Melbourne to Perth. Mike will be pushing all his food, water, clothes and tent in a customised baby buggy and will camp out for 70% of the trip. He will experience the extremes of the Nullarbor and will walk a minimum of 30 km per day. After being diagnosed with osteoarthritis in both knees as a result of being overweight, Mike started walking. After reading Deanna Sorenson’s account of walking unsupported across the Nullarbor, Mike decided he would walk from his home in Fremantle to Federation Square Melbourne via Coolgardie before his 70th birthday in a bid to raise funds and awareness for Arthritis WA.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Week 2

  1. bob saunders says:

    mike how are you dimboola looks good
    i have never seen a butcher show pain
    but your the one walking keep in touch bob.

Leave a Reply

