Week 7

April 25

Stats : Now in Ceduna 28.8 km /day since March 1st 

More excitement this week.  A couple of days ago my front axle broke.  I pushed the buggy about six km holding the front wheel up in the air, going along quite nicely on two wheels.Probably 6km is about as far as I would want to travel like that.  Along came two backpackers (Dougie and Sam) who were intrigued by this old man pushing a buggy with the front end up in the air. I explained what I was doing and why. Dougie, a Gordie from Newcastle on Tyne, took charge and summed up the situation in a moment.  He took the handle of a plastic bucket and fashioned a new axle!
I have travelled with this for about sixty km so far and am confident I can keep going until I can get a new axle.

I expect I can get a new axle a little faster than it takes to get my business cards and receipt books, which still haven’t arrived because of the Easter and ANZAC day holidays.  They will not arrive till Wednesday and I leave today Monday.  I have arranged with Nan at the Foreshore Caravan Park to pick them up on Wednesday and to give to Victor and Helen to bring them out to me.

Darren Beck of PRO Management paid for my accomodation and it’s a touch of paradise to have a bed and en suite and able to get really clean.  One problem has been that I lost my fly net and have been layering on different formulas of anti- fly and mozzie brews, one on top of the other. A nice tasting repellent would sell very well.

On Macca yesterday I forgot to tell him about the axle and the family that walked with me – Chris,Sandra ,Matthew and Shai Wright from Hampton East in Melbourne; they were just what I needed at the time – good people.

David and Lance came back with a new tyre and I had to tell them I couldn’t carry the extra weight. I offered to buy it anyway but they would not hear of it. They are both friends of the new president of the Fremantle Men’s Shed.   

I met up with Ian Glover last week at Kimba.  He generously took some weight off my buggy back to Freo. We also had a pleasant evening remembering times past.

I always remember things I wanted to include after I’ve logged off.

To all my friends:  my new phone does not register my phone numbers so you will have to ring me.  Good luck as coverage is getting poor.

Happy Mother’s Day,Mary Ellen (no, she’s not my mother to newcomers).

Love to all

Mike Pauly

About afwa0987

On the 16th May 2009 sixty-nine year old osteoarthritis sufferer, Mike Pauly, set off from his home in East Fremantle on a lone journey walking across the Nullarbor in a bid to raise funds and awareness for Arthritis. He completed the epic 3617km walk unaided. In 2011 he will walk again – this time from Melbourne to Perth. Mike will be pushing all his food, water, clothes and tent in a customised baby buggy and will camp out for 70% of the trip. He will experience the extremes of the Nullarbor and will walk a minimum of 30 km per day. After being diagnosed with osteoarthritis in both knees as a result of being overweight, Mike started walking. After reading Deanna Sorenson’s account of walking unsupported across the Nullarbor, Mike decided he would walk from his home in Fremantle to Federation Square Melbourne via Coolgardie before his 70th birthday in a bid to raise funds and awareness for Arthritis WA.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Week 7

  1. cathy says:

    Hi Michael, Well done so far mate, nearly at your second border!
    Jon tried to check with Telstra for you on your faulty mob but they wont speak with us, sorry!! Cathy & Jon South Fremantle m:0407 086 300 & 0417 901 089

Leave a Reply

