Blog Week 9

Day 67 Stats: 1923 km from Melbourne   Av: 29.14

Nomination for Sainthood: Nan at Ceduna Roadhouse for all she has done.   Parcel will be sent today via a grey Nomad.

My three truck drivers brought back my camera that I was so careless with (good guys).

Thanks to Ben at the Nullarbor Roadhouse for lending me his computer.  This would not be possible otherwise as it’s 196km to the next stop.  I was going to wait until the post truck arrives latest at 9.30 this evening.  My plan was to walk through the evening to make up the lost day.

I have just been told by Adam at the roadhouse that Arthritis WA is paying for my accommodation here and a meal for my birthday tomorrow.   I had a call form Mary-Ann from Arthritis WA letting me know that.  I also have accommodation at Eucla as well.

Actually I needed to give my right leg a rest because the muscle is very tight from pushing up the hills.  Of course I would have kept going becuase I find most pains go away when you keep moving.

Phil Legget, a truck driver, left me flask of Chivas Regal and other goodies.  He travels this route every six weeks.  i will see him on Sunday night.  We are having a campfire and a chat somewhere along the way.

I met a French couple – Eric and Tiffany – who made a birthday cake and sparkler and sang “Bon anniversaire”.  Lovely couple.  You will see them in Freo, Mary Ellen.

http://www.kangouroustrip.blogspot.com

I saw Ian and Jan from Rockingham for the second time; the first time they gave me a beer going into Ceduna, then apples and chocolate.

Monday 2/5

I met Roger, a 64-year-old cycling around the glove for the last 5 years since retirement.  Nice to meet a like-minded gentleman.

I called into Yalata, where I met Brendan at the Community store and allowed me to shop and tucked in some mushrooms for me.   As well I met the local policeman Brad and his wife Trish; she works as a disability officer.  I consider it a privilege to go into the community.  Also I met Danny, the land officer.  It is remarkable that there are no bushflies when you go through these lands as I usually carry half a kilo of flies on the buggy, not to mention the March flies.

Tuesday 3/5

Lorna and Kingston stopped for a chant and loaded me up with shortbread and created an addiction for condensed milk and coffee.

Wednesday 4/5

I met Trevor and Con; they go out to check that the emergency telephones are usable for the commonwealth government.   Alex is on his way to Perth to find work.  I must say I’ve met a few people doing this.

Kevin and Barbara Oakley went to Our Lady’s in Sunshine, my old school, and are friends of my special friend Bob Saunders.  We worked together in the butcher shop on Saturday morning.  We rang Bob and Pauline.  It gives me a real lift whenever I talk to Bob.

Editor: there might be more to this blog but when I printed it off for editing, I came to the end of the page and didn’t realise there might be more.  I’m afraid I’ll lose this if I try going back to the original so keep your eye on this space for next week.

About afwa0987

On the 16th May 2009 sixty-nine year old osteoarthritis sufferer, Mike Pauly, set off from his home in East Fremantle on a lone journey walking across the Nullarbor in a bid to raise funds and awareness for Arthritis. He completed the epic 3617km walk unaided. In 2011 he will walk again – this time from Melbourne to Perth. Mike will be pushing all his food, water, clothes and tent in a customised baby buggy and will camp out for 70% of the trip. He will experience the extremes of the Nullarbor and will walk a minimum of 30 km per day. After being diagnosed with osteoarthritis in both knees as a result of being overweight, Mike started walking. After reading Deanna Sorenson’s account of walking unsupported across the Nullarbor, Mike decided he would walk from his home in Fremantle to Federation Square Melbourne via Coolgardie before his 70th birthday in a bid to raise funds and awareness for Arthritis WA.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

