Blog 14

Tuesday June 14

I arrived at Southern Cross today – not long to go.  I arrive on 26 June so it is going to be very tight as I have to wait here for mail in the morning and arrange to be in Merridin on Saturday night to leave Sunday morning.  then there will be  a race from then on to be on time!  Bill rang from the Mens’ Shed; they will have a “Sausage Sizzle: at King’s Square, arranged by our mayor, Brad Pettit.  Paul and Fred are going to cook the BBQ.  Fred built George the 1st, the buggy from 2009.

I rang Adam from the Kalgoorlie Miner; he is now working for BHP Billiton.  He arranged for reporters to contact me.  Thomas, a cadet reporter, came out to interview me.  I am not sure if it will make it into the paper; maybe someone can google it.

I met the following interesting people this week:

Thursday 9.6. I had in interesting talk with Elizabeth and Murray from Nabiac near Taree in NSW.  They have just been to Ningaloo Reef for the second time and love it.  They are marathon kayakers, who recently complete 100km paddle from the Hawkebgury to Brooklyn.  They know Marin Dearnley’s son who started Ulysses Motorcycle Club who also collect for arthritis research.  They always fundraise for a specific area of research.  In our case, we are raising awareness for a chair at Curtin.

Mick Cowley, a truck driver with Buncker, who stopped to donate.  He lives in Eucla and wanted offer a bed but it was never the right place to stop.  Drivers have been extremely courteous and helpful along the way.  Phil, my mentor truck driver came through again with goodies,

Joanne at Norseman had a chat; she has four children and heaps of grandkids; Jimmy and Rodney stopped for a brief chat; they are repairers with the road department; Brad and Mim, prospectors with Eagle gold mine – they weren’t giving any tips; Avon, a bee artificial inseminator and there are only seven in WA; Joan and Jim Topping from Bullsbrook in Queensland; Brennan Rigger and Stuart Carpenter are going to the desalination plant construction in Wonthaggi; Kim and Evelyn gave me a tip about their horse next Saturday – doubt I can bet a bet on; Reg and Dorothy Fox have been to – I can’t read my own writing – my fingers are so cold sometimes…

Raylene at a distance who will be a bride on the 25th at Hill Manor in Baldivis.  She must be a really good friend as her friends Cath and Coral, have flown out from London for the wedding.  They were a lot of fun as they both pushed the buggy for a distance.  We all wish Raylene and her partner a happy and loving marriage. They told the next family to pass on their best wishes.

Julie and Norm gave me a beautiful meal of pasta and red wine (life’s tough on the road).  this was the third time a was the They arranged for some free accommodation at the Coolgardie Tourist Park.  They have been on the road for four years.  They are very likeable; I would like to keep in touch.  I almost forgot- hot porridge for breakfast!

Chris and Shona and their two little girls that I met for the second time had been shopping in Southern Cross and opened their boot to feed me, as I was getting pretty low on food. People’s generosity is remarkable.

I met young Emily, a geophysicist for KCGM and very level-headed and mature beyond her tender age; we met a couple of times as she goes backwards and forwards to the minesites.  She went to Pembrook Girls’ College in Mount Evelyn where Michelle, Darren and my two very bright grandsons live.  She moved to Kal with all the family; they used to live in Yarra Valley in Vic.

Anthony and Donna Dixon from Killarney in Victoria (I hope I got that right – cold finger syndrome again) and their beautiful children: Mimi (11), Meg (8), Ollie (6) and the boy in the family Jerry (19 months).  What a beautiful loving family!  I am blown away by how many families are giving their children such a rich education of traveling around Australia and sharing it all together.  My daughter Michelle and her husband Darren did this with their two boys.  My father never drove a car in his life.  Maybe that’s why I never thought of doing this.  But I still cannot help feeling I wish I had given my three girls this experience.

 

Regards

 

Mike

 

About afwa0987

On the 16th May 2009 sixty-nine year old osteoarthritis sufferer, Mike Pauly, set off from his home in East Fremantle on a lone journey walking across the Nullarbor in a bid to raise funds and awareness for Arthritis. He completed the epic 3617km walk unaided. In 2011 he will walk again – this time from Melbourne to Perth. Mike will be pushing all his food, water, clothes and tent in a customised baby buggy and will camp out for 70% of the trip. He will experience the extremes of the Nullarbor and will walk a minimum of 30 km per day. After being diagnosed with osteoarthritis in both knees as a result of being overweight, Mike started walking. After reading Deanna Sorenson’s account of walking unsupported across the Nullarbor, Mike decided he would walk from his home in Fremantle to Federation Square Melbourne via Coolgardie before his 70th birthday in a bid to raise funds and awareness for Arthritis WA.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Blog 14

  1. hi michael i have been rapt to hear how well you are going i know it has not been easy you left my house
    in melbourne on a baeutiful night on ist march you were even lucky enough to run into kevin and barbara
    from sunshine our old school town where we have some great memories
    well done mike pauline robert and bob

  2. Alan Middleton says:

    Congradulations what an effort, well done you are an inspiration to us all. I met you at Federation Square when you arrived in Melbourne and have followed your return trip via Macca on Sundays as did alot of people who all would wish you well. I would like to know how you feel physically and how did your feet handle the stress which would have to be horrific. May I also ask what the start times and finishing times of your normal day’s walking, I would think that you would need some time at the end of the day to organise a camp site. All the best Alan.

  3. Beren Ackers says:

    Does anyone know the date for when Mike first arrived in Melbourne in 2009? An online reference would be handy if possible – I can’t seem to find it. Cheers.

Leave a Reply

